Department of Electrical Engineering


Electrical Engineering was created since the establishment of the institute as Tripura Engineering College (TEC), a state engineering college in the year 1965, which is now National Institute of Technology, Agartala. It has been converted from TEC to NIT, Agartala with effect from the 1st April 2006, though the Union Cabinet approved the proposal of the state government for conversion of TEC to National Institute of Technology on 23rd February ‘2006.Electrical Engineering department offers an 8- semester B.Tech programme in “Electrical Engineering” with 60 (sixty) intake capacity and a 4-semester M.Tech programme in” Power Electronics & Drives” with 10(ten) intake capacity. Parallely department is providing especially in instrumentation .